SQA Advanced Diploma in Business (SCQF – 8)

Course Overview

The Advanced Diploma in Business (SCQF level 8) builds on the knowledge and skills of the Advanced Certificate and also covers management and organisational skills.

This qualification covers areas such as Preparing Financial Forecasts; Economics: Micro and Macro Theory and Application; Economics: The World Economy, Managing Business Culture and Strategy; Project Management: Strategy, Decision Making and Risk; and Business Law.

We offer the following courses:

  • First Aid at Work
  • Emergency First Aid at Work
  • Paediatric First Aid at Work
  • Health & Safety in Construction
  • Fire marshal/warden
  • Traffic marshal/warden
  • COSHH awareness
  • Manual Handling
  • Asbestos awareness
  • Working at Height Training and Working in Trenches training
  • And many more ……

Who does this qualification suit:

The Advanced Certificate and Advanced Diploma in Business is suitable for a wide range of candidates, including:

  • School leavers.
  • Adult returners to education.
  • Individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects.
  • People who wish to start their own business.

Entry requirements:

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • School-leaving qualifications equivalent to level 3/ SCQF level 6 meaning the student has the ability to study at the higher level.
  • A centre-devised test which shows the student’s ability to study at SQA Advanced Diploma level.
  • Relevant work experience.


Advanced Certificate and Advanced Diploma can provide progression to degree-level study. For example, the Advanced Certificate in Business allows direct entry into the second year of most degree programmes, and the Advanced Diploma in Business allows direct entry to most third year programmes.

Qualification Structure:

SQA Advanced Diploma Business
Group award code: GT2C 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

The Advanced Diploma in Business requires completion of an appropriate combination of mandatory and optional units totalling 240 SCQF credit points (30 SQA HN credits). A minimum of 64 SCQF credits (eight SQA credits) must be completed at SCQF level 8.

For further information on the structures and units of these qualifications please refer to the group award specification.

Unit specification:

SQA Advanced Diploma in Business

Please call us on 0208 088 1122 or email us at info@primetraining.org.uk